current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

cravings and impressionable old people
Wednesday, Mar. 26, 2003, 9:31 P.M.

Have you ever been so hungry for something, but you didn't know what you want to eat?

I feel that way now. I am so hungry for something, and I think it involves sugar so I won't be trying to figure out what it is. I wish I had some barbeque potato chips or something so that I could snack now but we're completely out of snack foods. We're down to ramen noodles and stuff that requires actual cooking. Bah. I get paid tomorrow. All I have until then is $5, which has to get spent on gas. I'm resisting the urge to drive to BiLo and buy chips. I keep telling myself "you don't need them, you don't need them..." but my stupid stomach and brain are in agreeance with each other, so they are going to take over and start moving my feet and my ignition hand and I'll be on my way to BiLo within the hour. Damn cravings. You'd think that since I'm almost done with my "time of the month" that my cravings would be gone by now. Nope. They last 24/7 during and until like 2 days after the damn thing. My brain goes "you want, you want, you want (insert random mechanically processed food product)" over and over again until I go nuts and either go to sleep or humor it and eat something, usually not what I'm craving, which pisses it off and makes me crave more.

I am kind of angry that they are leaving CNN on all the time at work where my residents (patients) can hear it. One old guy thought he was going to get drafted again, and another woman was asking if her husband was home yet, or if he was still overseas. This war stuff confuses these people. They have alzheimers and dementia, and this is not a good thing to keep on their TV's. They worry about it and get their stories confused, so they are up all night long (my shift). I'd like to thank the shift before mine for putting the war on every single channel available in that place. Thanks, guys. This is almost as bad as me going to do rounds in someone's room and hearing rap music on the radio in the person's room, because 3-11 thinks it's funny to let old people listen to rap. Don't get me wrong, I love rap. But putting Eminem on in a dementia patient's room....ummm I would have to say that there is something odd about that. One of these days I'm going to have gangsta old people to deal with at night. These people are impressionable. This is just as bad as this one woman having the Home Shopping Network on all the time and charging $400 to her credit card in a month, and calling 911 because the show COPS was on and it showed a girl that looked like one of the girls that work at our place.

Well, I am going to go. I have to call work tonight and see if they left my paycheck there, and if they did, I'm going to pick it up tonight. That would be nice. *Crosses fingers*

*Beth*

last - next