current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

Pennsylvania Drama
Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2003, 11:32 A.M.

So yeah. I've been back in Freezerville for a while now, realizing why I loved being down south for that week. It's cold as a mofo outside now. I have a meeting at work and I hope to bundle up and run down to the car and hop in without having to use my ice scraper. I just hate standing outside with a stick with plastic attached to it, beating it against my windshield like some kind of idiot. I'm not patient with ice on my car. I've gone through 2 ice scrapers already this winter. I don't scrape, per say. I beat the windsheild furiously with the plastic part, hoping to break up the ice, then I scrape. People at work have laughed at me because I look like I'm beating up my car. It's just that I hate winter, and I hate having to freeze my ass off just to see out the damn windshield. The weather channel said that another storm is coming up from Arkansas or something. Oh joy. Guess I should buy a couple more ice scrapers since I'm obviously very destructive with them. I'm suprised I haven't busted my windshield or something, with all the banging of the plastic and the kicking of my car. Yesterday I had huge ice chunks hanging off the bottom of my car, right by the wheel. I had to kick my car perfusely to get them to loosen...and they didn't even loosen on the one side. So here I am, in a bank parking lot, kicking the hell out of my car. I'm sure some people got a laugh out of that one.

The day Adam and I got back, two of our neighbors came up and started ranting about our landlord. Joe came up and told us that Rick (or landlord) had put an eviction notice on their door. I guess the guy that is staying temporarily in their apartment (60 year old guy in motor scooter... yes I said motor scooter) is talking shit on our landlord around town. Picture this 60 year old guy in one of those motor scooter things going down the apartment steps (I've seen it before), driving himself to the busy part of town, and talking to random people about our landlord.

Hmmmmm.

Anyway, I said "If this guy causes you so much trouble, why don't you kick his ass out?" And the response was "we would, but he locks his stuff up in his room." So they talked about how this guy was causing them so much trouble and greif, and turning our landlord against them. So yesterday I came home from work in the morning and followed an ambulance to our house. The paramedics got out and went to my door. I thought "Oh god, what happened to Adam?" but they realized it wasn't the right apartment and headed around back. I was walking up the hill and the guy asked me which one was apartment 8. It was Joe and Jenn's apartment (the people who were complaining about the old guy.) I thought, "Oh geez...what did they do to him?" Maybe they finally decided to rub out the old bastard. Listen to me. I sound like I'm in the mob or something. Don't worry, kids. I'm still that sweet, gentle girl who works in the old folks home.

It's just this silly Pennsylvania drama that makes me want to bang my head against the wall, or beat my car with an ice scraper.

Anyway, I'm sure our landlord isn't as bad as they're saying. The man must have had some good reason for deciding to evict them. Adam and I have lived here for a year and a half, and Rick has always been nice to us. He is leniant on rent payments, and last night I talked to him in the laundry room and he came up to my apartment and held the door open for me so that I could carry my laundry basket in. He's not that bad of a guy. So he thinks that toilets sweat. He hasn't given us that many reasons to think that he's a horrible person. He's just slightly dim. It's okay, it happens to the best of us. Hell I'm always the one who's tripping over rocks in the hallway at work.

Don't ask. Imaginary rocks. Clumsy feet. Bad eye-foot cooridination.

Well I'm out for now. I got a meeting to get ready for, and a storm to ward away. Oh, and I got ice scrapers to buy.

*Bethy*

last - next