current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

Sports catastrophes
Friday, Jan. 10, 2003, 12:28 P.M.

Hey, things have been slightly better. I've been working to keep my mind off of the subject, although today when I called my grandfather said that my Mam had a bad night last night, and kept getting up to wander around. I know this is bad because if it gets to be a problem, she's going to have to be in a nursing home. That scares me because I work in a nursing home and I think she'll just go downhill as soon as she goes to one. Well I have to think of something different because I'm going to get all emotional again.

Anyway, I was thinking of how I get bored some days and days off, and a suggestion was made to start doing a sport. I thought about this, and then realized I have attempted at several sports, and not succeeded at them. Let me break it down for you.

Beth's Attempted (but failed) Sports

1. Volleyball- Major twitch factor. I used to play volleyball in high school, and coach used to make me run like 3 miles a day plus do jumping jacks and crunches. I was chunky back then too, so this was hard! So needless to say, every time I see a volleyball, I start twitching and expect to have to run in order to play.
2. Dodgeball- Forget it. I couldn't dodge a golf cart with 2 broken wheels. Heh heh.
3. Twister- I've explained this one before in a past entry, but you get the point in where this game would NOT be a good idea.
4. Miniature Golf- I've hit people, cars, made holes in one in other holes than the one I was playing, spent 20 turns on one hole, and the only reason someone would ask me to play miniature golf with them would be to laugh at how bad I am at it (oh the shame!)
5. Darts- Someone who would put a sharp metal pointy thing in my hand and ask me to throw it would be of a questionable mental state. I don't throw well, especially sharp pointy things. So we'll skip the apple on the head trick.
6. Bowling- I was once nicknamed the "Gutter Queen". Yes it is fun, but I'd rather have those bumper things on the sides so that my ball had a chance of hitting some pins.

The only sport I can remember being good at is football, and in high school when our gym class played, because we were girls it was flag football and not tackle football. It used to make me mad but then I realized that if I tackled some of these girls, I'd probably hurt someone pretty bad and get sued. So flag football it was.

I don't know why I just went into a whole sport thing. I gotta go because my stomach is hurting again and I have to lay down for another hour or so.

*Bethy*

last - next